Thrown Off

I had someone ask me the other day why I’m so calm and relaxed during midterm and finals week. At the time, I really didn’t know. I didn’t notice the number of people around me talking about this paper that they have to write or that project they needed to finish. At first I thought the answer was that I didn’t have any work. 18 credits, 2 jobs, 2 extra curriculars, treasurer and spring intern applications proved me wrong. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have some stress but not enough to start showing.

Anyways, after thinking about it, the answer is way more simple than I thought. I work, then I play, work and then play. I don’t only do this during finals week but everyday of every week of every month. Stress happens when the balance of the two get thrown off. Too much work and we can end up stressing out. Too much play and that work never gets done. So if I ever get asked that question again I can just say, “Find a balance, tip the scale, but never let go while the scale is tipped because then there will be a mess and that mess rhymes with stress.”

13245300215_279842efd4_b

Leave a Reply

